...beneath these tragic waves
: musings : past : etch : others : speak : h#umor :
the [dead] end[s] looms large
Jan 06, 2001

I've come to a crossroad in my life. I'm torn on a decision that could shake the very foundation of my existence...that decision? What should I do with my hair?(!) I'm at that point everyone hates. The midway phase between short hair and longer hair. At that point where the wind manages to caress a hanging lock of you hair and thrust it directly into the center of your (until recently) useful eyeball. And if your hair happens to be crispy from accidently using too much gel, well all the worse for your vision. Something clearly much be done.

Years ago (4 or so...my how the time flies) I had rather long, yet not quite flowing hair that hung a bit below my shoulders. Due to my job (the one that causes me much hair distress as you will see momentarily) I was forced to chop it down to a "respectable length" so that the old fogies in suits didn't clutch their failing hearts, thrust one shaking hand heavenward, collapse to their knees onto the cold office floor, let out a final strained gasp, and fittingly expire. That, and I was tired of getting "excuse me miss...er I mean, sir" (or as it was in high school..."yo bitch...I mean, homey"). While it looked superb (call me biased) that first cut, every cut after has looked increasingly worse (perhaps because I decided to go to a different hair cutter person). Fast forward to present day...I'm undecided if I want to grow it out a bit, perhaps to my cheek or slightly below, or get it chopped back into it's previous relatively short incarnation. No matter what I decide [or you, the reader, decide depending on if I hold a contest (hint: I won't be)], I'd like to garnish it up with a bit of color...say a sexy blue or ...well that's it really. Green seems way over used. I've never really been one for hair of such a type but I tell you this; I'm tired of blond hair, I need a change.

I would give visual representations but at the current time, my scanner is broken. I'd apologize but honestly, I'm doing you a favor.

college
The end of my break from college rears it's ugly head on the rapidly approaching horizon. And I dread it. Normally the way it works is college ends, I cheer, I get bored towards the end of the break, I eagarly anticipate classes starting, three days in I weep for freedom. Not so this time. I'm not sure what it is (other than I've been in school for 16 years straight now, counting normal state school of course) but I don't like it. This will be the first semester that I actually take classes relevant to my major (computer graphics/design) and while that thrills me to an extent, it doesn't do so enough to make me count the minutes until I can begin. I mainly attribute the lack of desire to go to having to now drive 30 minutes to get to class, and 30 minutes to get home (or rather, work as that is where I'll have to go after classes). To cut a long (and boring) story short; I don't look forward to Monday.


"my tender flame that erupts forgotten feelings within"

devolve | evolve

.