...beneath these tragic waves
: musings : past : etch : others : speak : h#umor :
don't be a nerd - think before you speak
Jan 09, 2001

Walking to the restroom in the hall of the graphic design building, a woman walked out of a door a few yards down the way.

"Technical illustration?" she inquired.
"Advanced bathroom applications," I replied without delay (or thinking, obviously). Her mouth dropped open slightly and she stared at me blankly. Dumbfounded that someone would ever say something like that, she wandered back into the classroom, perhaps to weep for the obviously damned planet she lives on.

This goes to show you what a dork I can be and why I don't sweep women off their feet with spur of the moment poetic jive. How and why my subconscious strung that phrase together with the intent of humor is beyond me. That's the reason I, and my controlled, conscious mind try to keep my subconscious on a short leash (and normally muzzled). To add on to my already dangerously high moron level, I said "application". Of all the possible words I chose "application". ("techniques", in hindsight, would have squeezed out what little amount of funny was in that lemon of a statement, though perhaps would have conjured too many perverted images). I obviously have used a computer way too much.

Point of this story? None really. But the moral of the story is to think before you speak, especially if you somehow think you are going to be funny when you so are not.


"it's kind of like the way you're breathing; it's kind of like the way you keep looking away"

devolve | evolve

.