...beneath these tragic waves
: musings : past : etch : others : speak : h#umor :
encounter with a religious zealot
Jan 17, 2001

I was stopped at the very first light by campus on my way home when a red truck pulled up somewhat beside me and stopped with the first half of his vehicle next to the back half of mine, as if he had no room to get by. He did, and since the lane he was trying to get in was the right most lane which he could turn at, obviously, I knew something wasn't right. I know now he was reading my bumper sticker and "baby on board" spoof sign. My bumper sticker says simply "Roswell Crash: I believe!" and has the icon style alien head we all know. My sign says "Alien on board" with an equally simple, full bodied alien. He was obviously checking them out but as you can see, it's not exactly like reading a novel...he took a good 20 seconds where he was.

A moment later he pulled up beside, window to window, as if he was going to turn, yet not doing so. Eyeing the truck oddly, I saw there was plenty of room to turn, yet still he sat. The monstrous honk from his truck turned my head towards him and I could just barely make out his lips moving though his heavily tinted windows. Why he thought I could read lips, especially through tint, is beyond my grasp but I have to assume he forgot about it (the tint that is). As for reading lips, apparently I'm the only person who cannot as everyone speaks to me that way at sometime or another and always are frustrated when I just smile and nod while pretending I understand (it never works).

Taking a hint from my perplexed stare, he rolls his window down.

"So you believe in aliens?", he asks with a seemingly condescending smile. Having always believe in the possibility of other life (and I don't mean plants) in the boundless depths of the universe, I reply with a simple "yeah I do" as I laugh quietly to myself that someone actually was asking me this out of the blue.

After a moment of silence when I can tell he still has something to say (did I mention this light takes forever? Luckily today it changed just in time), he lets out a comment I cannot make out due to the 'blub blub' of his truck engine. Asking him to repeat he points his finger skyward and bobs it up and down.

"What about Jesus?" he inquires to which I blink, as this isn't a normal occurrence for me (I'm not getting into my religious beliefs at all). I almost asked "what do you mean?" out of some kind of reflex but I contain myself because I know exactly what he means.

"Aliens are demons!" he says wild-eyed. At this point I figure this guy throws anything he doesn't know about/understand under the category of "satanic/demonic" (modern medicine is of the devil!!! E=MC^2 is of the devil!!! and so forth), so I simply reply with "er...o...kay" as I put my foot on the gas so I can go. Lucky for me the light had indeed changed.

Not exactly a funny story, but it was an odd situation for me however you see it, so I was compelled to share.


"thou shalt makes bricks without straw!"

devolve | evolve

.