...beneath these tragic waves
: musings : past : etch : others : speak : h#umor :
if you ever want to see incompetence...
Feb 13, 2001

It was a slow day today. I was still reeling from my lack of sleep for the last few days. I felt ("felt" meaning "was") as if I was nodding off every few minutes sitting in my prison at work. It was the type of light sleep where you feel like a lot more time should have passed than actually has. Very frustrating when you are yearning to leave. But this was only a small part of why it was so long. My plans to meet with Sara today were the main reason, however, as I'm always nervous in such situations, for whatever reason. Because of that, the day went slowly by as I thought about the many ways I was going to make an ass of myself. The plan was to get some food (as she's never been to China Taste, which obviously had to be remedied...sadly it wasn't the best day there) and head to the ticketmaster booth at Publix for our A Perfect Circle tickets (woohoo!). I didn't get to show her the local racists, sadly, since they were all in hiding. I'm sure she's seen the freaks before though.

When I first met her, I couldn't help but feel a small ting of disappointment that she wasn't some disfigured freak because that meant I wouldn't be able to use my escape plan (and I felt like a big dork that whole time since she was quite the opposite...here is what I looked like the whole time). A plan that would have put Houdini to shame. All that hard work gone to waste. Oh, well I'll certainly live. I'm sure I'll enjoy going with her to the show, while she pummels me with Coke bottles on the forehead to keep me awake, more than I would getting one use from my great egress.

The surprise is that we are going to make it to the show, incompetent as the booth caretaker people were. The woman, after 5 minutes of searching on the computer, was hellbent on the fact that there was no information on the show. We gave her all the information a person could wish for, and more, yet still she insisted there was nothing there.

Just a day or so prior, my good Polish friend had purchased his ticket from the very same place, though obviously from a very different, vastly more qualified employee. It was all I could do to not slide, very Dukes of Hazard like, across the counter and get the tickets myself but the little gate in and out of the counter was locked, so I'd have been trapped! Eventually, she came (likely by sheer luck) across what we needed and from the look on her face (which now I know was shock that she managed to get it right) I was waiting for her to say, "you're in luck, we have one ticket left," as an evil smile spread across her face. It was about that time that the first worker had her brain overload and had to go on a break, so we had to sit through the process a bit again, though luckily the ticket info had been left on the computer. It just took the new woman a while to figure out how to take our money (her hand kept colliding with the counter and she was perplexed...she looked like one of those toy robots that walks into walls and just keeps trying to go). Luckily, we got them in the end and I couldn't be more pleased. Haven't seen a good show in a while and now I have someone entertaining (and who shares an eerie amount of similarities to me) to go with. Yes, we made sure to check that the people gave us the right tickets before we left. Now if I could only find where I put the thing...

On the way in, she said she didn't like Publix at all, which I thought was a silly notion. How could you not like a grocery store? Now I know.


"cause the world waits around, but I keep slipping and losing ground.
do I not try so hard, so good? I can't keep changing just because you think I should"

devolve | evolve

.