...beneath these tragic waves
: musings : past : etch : others : speak : h#umor :
there and back again
Feb 24, 2001

So terribly sorry I've been silent the past few days. I'm having to use all my mental energy to combat against a tidal wave depression that threatens to wash me away. To keep myself happy and upbeat is taking all I have. So if this entry is crap (it is), don't be too mad.

So, the trip. The trip was good, the trip was fun. The trip was wrought with peril and adventure around every turn (not unlike the van ride I'm on at the very moment I write the draft for this entry). It was well worth all the danger we went through, at least, in my opinion it was. You have to pity poor Sara, stuck with me that whole time.

The week of the trip had been slightly drizzly from Monday to the day we went (Friday). Slight drizzle but nothing to worry about or delay any plans we had. Well of course Friday it decided to come down like the 40 days flood. People were wrecking all over the place. Trees were being stuck down by lightning in droves. Clouds began to cyclone above my home. Things of that nature. Well, being the smart people we are, the dyed-red haired wonder and I went anyway with little thought about it. Not going simply wasn't an option. You only live once, though perhaps not much long after taking a trip like we did. We at least took the weather into account and left a good three and a half hours early...yet we were still late (through no fault of my own...*cough*).

I've been to Nashville a ton of times (though never to this arena), including a recent trip just prior with Rhetoric to see "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon". But the enjoyment of others was in my hands and I didn't want to be late, so I printed out the worlds most detailed directions to the show, straight from my doorstep to the arena.

We still got lost...

Well, to be honest, we didn't get "lost" so much as simply turned around by the tricky streets of downtown Nashville. On the way there, the interstate splits into two different directions, which it seemed to us that my directions had left out which one we were supposed to take (in hindsight, if it hadn't been distracted, my brain would have pointed out to me which way downtown was). So after just blindly picking the one that seemed the most logical, we decided that it must be the wrong way. After traveling a bit further down, we took an exit and circled to head back the other way. This is where it got crazy. We (well, I, since I was driving...sorry Sara!) managed to miss every single exit we needed to take.

Having left early, we were going to stop and get food before the show since I was starving and she "could eat something". Deciding to forego finding the arena for the moment, I took a hint from my unnatural love of "hot, steamy" Krystals and took the exit where I knew I could get such a "meal" (yes I asked her before dragging her to such a place...I'm not completely heartless). This was the Krystals in the VERY same parking area that the movie theater I had been too not long ago was. Yet somehow I never managed to get the car there. We ended up going towards about 15 different cities before the night was over (I even missed the exit going HOME, which I never miss...distraction yet again). When we finally found the right exit, it turns out it was the very first one we had been on before when we decided we were going the wrong way...sigh.

I had begun to go slightly crazy for fear I'd cause us to be late, which would have made me feel so guilty I'd never be able to face her again. After many trips through traffic jams, floods, small craters, and the ghetto [where I walked into a gas station that made me feel like I was in a rap video...luckily no one decided (stereotype warning) to bust a cap in the little white boy...if anything, they were nicer to me than most anyone ever is anywhere I go) we made it. Well, kind of. We knew vaguely which street the show was on but as luck would have it, it was a one-way street and we were on the dead end of it. You might say to me "Why didn't you just go one street down and ride it all the way up?" to which I would reply "I tried". The roads of Nashville are the most insane I've ever witnessed, and I've witnessed insanity in my day. Every street we went up would twist back on itself and we'd end up somehow further from our destination.

A plan hit me at that moment. Why not just park and walk the short distance to the show. Man, what a folly on my part. We parked close, so we though, though in truth we were six blocks away. Now that wouldn't be bad at all but it was still raining icy pellets of death and it was cold. So we, Sara who was looking exceptionally stunning, and myself looking like myself, got SOAKED and quite frozen. To make it worse, I left my jacket in the car because "it's always hot inside shows". So not only was I really cold but I didn't even have a coat to be very chivalrous with and offer to Sara. What a dork I am.

Even all this wouldn't have been so bad...that is, had we not had to wait in a line that wrapped all the way around the block for an hour and a half. I've never seen anything like it. The only bright point of the line wait was that I wasn't the dumbest person there...but almost. The people ahead of us didn't even have tickets yet, for a show which was sold out pretty much at every other venue across the country. The people a bit behind us were wearing shorts and "muscle shirts". Oh, and they were bald. And of course I got to overhear a lot of conversation, which is always entertaining. Another bright point was when I'd look over at Sara, she'd be laughing to herself about things I tried to not laugh at (except inside) so that she wouldn't think I was a jerk. That certainly made me want to give her high praise when she was laughing at the exact things I was. I hope I didn't go too astray with her...I'm always shy about giving people compliments like they deserve, such as how excellent she looked. I'm a dork, I can't help it. I don't know how we managed it but we both managed to not get sick. Woohoo to our immune systems. Even THOSE are similar.

Despite all the hardships (which I enjoyed every single minute of, despite what it might sound like...though I wouldn't have without such good company) the show was excellent. We did get in late (which was lucky, I have to say) due to the line (had it not been for the line, we'd have gotten there at the perfect time) so we missed most of the first band, Snake River Canyon (or some such) which doesn't do it for me. When APC came out, we unfortunately couldn't get in the standing crowd or even stand at all, which I felt terrible for, because it's just hard to get into a show when you are seated. It was great show despite, very moving and powerful, and I'm certainly glad Sara agreed to go with me. I'd have been kicking myself had I missed it (which I would have if she didn't go because I'm not a solo concert going kind of guy).

The trip back was uneventful, as far as getting lost (though I did miss my turn as I mentioned). We had the radio permanently set on scan so it was stopping for a few seconds on country, rock, 80's, blues, you name it. So we (well, I) were having a good time belting out songs which we often horrified each other with by the amount of word we knew. Towards the end she was passing out, even though it was her job to keep me awake via coke bottle slaps to the face. So I was close to nodding myself though she awoke in time to yank my head from resting on the window and make sure I was still okay to drive. Good times.

Hopefully the dyed-red haired wonder didn't get too sick of me on the trip. Though, how could she not with me singing Whitesnake songs in a high pitched voice all the way back is beyond me.

compliment or no?
little tidbit about my site on diarist.net. I can't tell if it's a good comment or not. But if I am for some reason making people hate the world, then my goal for all of this is kind of going backwards. My point is to try and make people take things more lightly and get enjoyment out of silly things in life. Then hopefully I can take my own advice (I'm not really too serious ever, just some specific problems do bother me, but hey, I have less hang-ups than most).

"Boredom-inspired rants, one nearly every day. He can make you hate the world if you're not careful. Well, maybe that's a bit of an exaggeration. This journal reminds me of why I left the suburbs of Atlanta years ago, never to return. An entertaining collection of observations at the local Subway."

wow, over 1000 hits
Yep.


"and I memorized how warm your body felt, as you lay half asleep beside me
and I memorized the way the sunlight filled the room, as it played upon your body
I miss...God I miss, waking up beside you"

devolve | evolve

.