...beneath these tragic waves
: musings : past : etch : others : speak : h#umor :
Poetica-Collab I: The Motion
Jun 07, 2001

Below is my attempt to be inspired and extend my writing diversity. As I've said before, this whole "project" was to be sort of an anti-journal (i.e. not rant about the harshness of everyday life). But that sort of fell through since it also was (is) an attempt to improve my skill in writing as I've never really done so except in passing yet have always wanted too. I still feel I maintain a decent amount of light-heartedness and hope those few who visit me more than once can forgive my attempt at evolution. And I hope you can forgive me again if my attempts suck.

Image by Alindala

Assignment: Write a poem inspired from the above image.

the motion
I saw the tragedy in the way she moved and a sadness in the way she smiled.
A bit undeserving to be contained so needlessly.
A bit unnerving that she could not be.

Never wary when she reached to reveal the stars.
Never mindful that she would not be denied.

She sat so subtle in the egress.
Yet in that moment I could see her drifting.
Smiling and laughing as she moved to wave goodbye.
And then the moment slipped away.

[more]

devolve | evolve

.