...beneath these tragic waves
: musings : past : etch : others : speak : h#umor :
back, you freaks, back
Jul 17, 2001

Standing in line of the place that the majority of "worthwhile" events seem to take place in my life, I was overseeing the salting and heavy peppering of my tender chicken sub when I felt my personal space bubble being burst. The woman who had been behind me had moved up in the line to my area to direct the "sandwich artists" in the final construction of her meal. But she had moved up a tad too far, for my tastes at least, and to her's too as I'd soon learn. She came so close to me that her arm was flush against mine and in fact I felt a bit of pressure from her direction as if she was slightly leaning into me.

As you might imagine, I felt very ackward but I wasn't about to stand aside for such a rude person. Well, you might not find that rude, as I did (I always consider people whio stick themselves and their parts in my face as rude), but surely you cannot claim this next event to be unrude.

I heard a slight clearning of the throat when my mind decide to fool me into thinking I had heard her say "would you move?" because obviously no one would be that bold. Yet there I heard it again, and saw the lips it issued from. "Could you move?!"

My first reaction, besides my jaw dropping, was to strike her repeatedly (despite my anti-violence stance) where ever I could get my fists the fastest but she was standing so close to me there was no way I could get any leverage, which I guess was "her tactic". After all, a few times of saying things like this to various strangers, I'm sure she was prepared for it. The bread just within arms reach would have made a splendid club with which to deliver to her the daily suggested amount of wheat intake, or something.

Sadly, what else could I do but move? Besides make the "what the hell are you thinking" face. Which I made a whole bunch. She wasn't phased. Even the cashier talking to me loudly about "that rude woman" didn't make her blink. She must just be rude, used to it, and doesn't apologize for it. So if she wasn't bothered, why should I be? I guess I'm just still perplexed over such things. I should be used to people by now, but I guess I'm still working on it.

"I am weak and, numb and, insignificant"

devolve | evolve

.