...beneath these tragic waves
: musings : past : etch : others : speak : h#umor :
bloody hell
Aug 24, 2001

I can't say why it was this way, but Monday (you see how long it takes me to update these days - just trying to be good to you, dear lone reader) was a day where the water flowed like blood. Well, not so much the water flowing like blood as the blood flowing like blood. The sight of blood doesn't bother me in the least (it's just colored liquid to me) though I can't say I favor getting it on me when it's not my blood (to you 2,000 DL people who seem to think they are vampires: no I don't drink it...oh, and I've seen you in the park playing with your wooden swords a few times...thanks for the laughs).

Two of the three instances aren't exactly thrilling. Pretty much someone bled and that was that. The first time was myself when a large, jagged shard of wood decided to impale me with a fury I didn't know wood could contain. The second (this isn't chronological, I just like to make lists) was in Aikido class when one of the guys in my group decided to lose a scab and no one realized until a few of us pulled back with blood oozing on our arms. The rest of the night was spent with us all seeing phantom blood. Not the sort of story you'd expect, I know. The final, and "interesting" time, was during lunch. I was standing in line, minding my own business (as always) waiting for the person in front of me to get going (as usual). While minding my own business, I noticed he kept setting one of his limbs on the freakin' counter (okay, just his hand), looking at it oddly, then putting it back to his side where he poked and prodded at it. He also made the occasional "oww" sound, which gave him away.

Now, when I was growing up, my parent (yes, singular) tried to teach me not to be a complete moron. And while she failed on many, many levels, I am confident on an issue such as this she did well. Or perhaps I'm overly troubled by it. You tell me.

The next time he decided to plop that hand up there I took special interest in staring at it to see what all the fuss was about. Where you normally would have seen the middle section of his disgusting excuse for a finger, a band-aid stood doing its job. The band-aid was fighting a losing battle. Have you ever been at, say, the pool and seen an old, soggy, and used up band-aid lying on the side? Well that's what this guy was wearing, except it had, despite all odds, managed to cling to the gnarled digit (whereas we all know band-aid's fall off as soon as they get to a pool, just to freak me out). But it didn't manage to stop the GUSHING flow of blood that was issuing forth from his finger. Did I mention he was setting his hand (which the finger was attached too, even if that was a surprise with the obviously huge cut he must have) on the counter? The food counter?

It wasn't the blood that really got me. I didn't like it, of course and in the end, the only reason to be bothered was because blood was on the food counter. It was (hopefully obviously) the fact that this guy was letting his blood shoot out onto a counter where food is placed without a second thought that blew my mind. Maybe I'm the only one, but I was taught this is a 'nono'. And considering the guy was 20 years older then myself at least, it should have been to him as well. But it wasn't and that was indeed perplexing.

There comes a moment in life when you simply can't stay silent. For me, it seems far too often. But this day was the most justified non-silence I had ever made. When I could ponder no longer I stepped forward and boldy exlaimed, "uh, hey, you know you're bleeding, right?" to which he replied (as he smiled) "yeah, it's really coming out, isn't it?". I blinked. He smiled. My mouth fell agap. He nodded and slid down the counter towards the end. I blinked. He still smiled.

I had assumed that surely when he knew others had noticed his retardation, he'd have stopped. He prodded at the finger even more intensely if possible. He at least stopped the goofy smile when I cut in front of him, telling the people I was getting my food before "the bleeding psycho behind me" (and to make sure they didn't put my food on the counter). I half expected him to get in my grill and shake his finger at me, blood going all over the place, at which point it would "have been on". But he just stood there, doing nothing, which seems to be what he is best at. Besides being stupid, of course. It was an interesting lunch though not overly satisfying.

other stuff
My nose is slightly stuffed today so when I breathe in I sound like a giant party favor. Still, no one will dance with me. Obviously, they've seen my moves before.

I recounted your story (you know who you are) of the near death by tigers after eating fish for the first time story to someone in the car with me and almost drove off the road I was laughing so hard. The other person was too busy making sure the seatbelt was on to laugh but I'm sure inside they were dying. Maybe I just told it wrong.

College has again begun and all the "old gang" is back. The three people I like are there, minus three people I really didn't like (always a plus). The Fearsome Foursome has been reduced to the Lone Fat, Balding at Age Twenty Guy Who Likes to Make Fart Sounds Because It's Still Cool. The guy who perplexed me most out of the group, Yellow Man Walking, is gone for good I'm told. The reason? He found Jesus. Good for him. But by the way he acted last time, I won't believe that until I see him. I could make some sort of joke about him looking like the sun and light in a religious manner, but I'm not going to do so. Hair Flip Guy is nowhere to be found. Where he is doesn't matter as long as he's making his really bad drug/drinking jokes and flipping his hair elsewhere. Not So Bad Dude too is gone without a trace, which doesn't thrill nor sadden me. He wasn't so bad.

Wintergreen Girl is of course there, wearing outfits she ought not wear. Though I've only seen her on the first day since she has already skipped the other three days. She hasn't changed a bit.

You know how I don't update often? Now that school is back in, I'll probably be updating often due to both wasting time in class by doing it and the fact that there is always something noteworthy going on there.

It's only the first week and I'm already dead. Only one more semester after this to deal with though. I'll survive. I have some worthy goals to aim for, even more (and far better) then I had last semester.

(you were right about Lamb...whew)

"wanna stay right here, 'til the end of time
until the earth stops turning
I'm gonna love you, 'til the seas run dry
I've found the one I've waited for"

devolve | evolve

.