...beneath these tragic waves
: musings : past : etch : others : speak : h#umor :
tonight
Nov 22, 2001

I was going to write about this (second paragraph) the night I got back from it, or at least in the morning, but words still fail me. I will never be able to do justice to that night.

Tonight, on the way home from having Thanksgiving with my grandparents and aunt, I took the time to enjoy the clouds drifting in front and behind of the oddly bright moon. I surprise myself at how often I take sights (and people, though such people are rare) that I find truly amazing, for granted. Yet it never fails that when I take but a brief moment to look towards the stars on the few clear nights when I can see them, that I lower my eyes to find an hour has passed. And in me, always countless hours pass by, though not without having taking them of benefit. There is something about a clear night that allows my mind to wander; really wander, free and without the burdens of everyday existence that prevent such freedom at any other time in my life. No other time do I get to ponder what my future holds, or the deep mysteries of the universe that I rarely get to give thought to any longer. Never do I feel so alive.

In my mind still are images of my aunts dog with her head covered in a stealthily stolen bowl of mashed potatoes. Of my grandparents loving bickering. Of the formations of the noon clouds that remind me of days when I was a child, the only worry I had being where to find a good stick I could take on another pretend adventurer (though I know, now, that it was actually only half make-believe).

In my mind, now, are many memories. And lots of thought towards the future, which I can only hope make memories such as these, and hope to have those I hold dear to share them with.

devolve | evolve

.