...beneath these tragic waves
: musings : past : etch : others : speak : h#umor :
resolutions
Jan 14, 2004

In response to my asking you out there for ideas for a 2004 resolution, this fine woman left me a guestbook message saying I shouldn't make them, and also dropped a good point that if there was anything worth making a resolution about I'd both already know about it and already be on my way to accomplishing it. Sadly, I suffer from an extremely lack of willpower in certain aspects of my life, and that's why I find resolutions to be such a boon to my existence. Last years resolution was rather a smashing success.

But, as I said, she makes a good point. Perhaps I should make a last and final resolution to, from hence forth, do all important things when they first come to mind and not waiting for a special day to do so (if making such a resolution isn't some sort of paradox for this change I'm mentioning). This little revelation makes me wonder if, perhaps, the reason I've found my life so drab and unfulfilling up to this point is my constant procrastination on taking action on anything of importance. All signs today have pointed to the need for me to take charge in my life. And when you have about ten signs in one day, that in itself is yet another sign, and you should likely take notice. Besides, what's the harm in trying?

In fact, while typing out this entry, I've already thought of something I've had in mind for rather a while, that I've put off, and put off again. It's a small thing for most people perhaps, but a step out of the usual for myself, and hopefully a step in the right direction. And I think I will test my fate, say, tomorrow. I would say today, but it's already tomorrow, and tomorrow will prove the more opportune time. This is one of those things you look back on and regret when you don't take a leap, and regret is an emotion I've had my fill of for one life and wish to disassociate myself with. Wish me luck.

All that said, still feel very free to send me resolution ideas (the three I've gotten were good indeed). Maybe they'll be things I can do tomorrow as well...

(do I get extra points for doing something that I 90% expect to not go as desired? Or is becoming more optimistic another required part of this evolution?)

"Regardless of warnings, the future doesn't scare me at all"

devolve | evolve

.