...beneath these tragic waves
: musings : past : etch : others : speak : h#umor :
At long last...
Dec 03, 2005

...I have a date for Valentine's Day; that date is Sigur R�s. And let me tell you, I've been waiting several years for this "date".
Since moving to Nashville, I've seen a depressingly low number of shows. When I first came down here, I saw Gomez, which was a fine performance. All the way until recently, I'd not been to any more and have missed quite a few good ones (still kicking myself for missing Arcade Fire). Up last month when I saw Stars, I'd not been to another one.
Stars was opening for Death Cab for Cutie, who I'd heard of many times but never actually listened to. I went to the show to see Stars, and I'm glad I did, because they did an excellent set, though far too short. I figured I'd maybe hear a new band and add someone else to my list of what I can listen to. Sadly, Death Cab did not make this list. I've heard a lot of good things about them and while I won't say they were bad musicians, I will say that I found them to be mind-numbingly boring. I don't think I've ever left in the middle of a bands set but this time I did. My two friends who were also there were both very much in agreement for leaving. Maybe I happened to hear some of their less impressive songs, but nothing about the music, lyrics or stage-presence moved me in the least bit. It was very disappointing.
Stars on the other hand, as mentioned, were excellent. I was able experience a bit of their older music which I'm not as familiar with and that was certainly a pleasing experience. I will say that they had some interesting presence on stage. Every single one of them seemed to be in their own world. The two singers seemed to be moving to their own beats, the female lead with her wild microphone motions and 80's hair and the male lead with his chipper bouncing and energetic playing of his horned instruments. The guitarist was doing some wild, terrible dancing and he and the bassist would do the required "play facing each other very close, smile brightly and bang heads together" solo during all instrumental sessions. The drummer...well...the drummer needs to rethink his mesh wardrobe and oddly shaped cowboy hat. The very lovely violinist was off to the side, swaying along with the motion of her bow, smiling happily. And the poor keyboard player was in the shadows, almost PHYSICALLY in his own world, not just mentally. Yet despite them all "dancing to the beat of their own drum", they played together flawlessly and I was quite impressed.
I have no doubt the Sigur R�s show will be amazing. If there are those of you who've not listened to them, I certainly urge you to have a listen, even if you didn't agree with my feelings on Death Cab. However, since the two of the three people who read this blog section were with me, and I'm going to the show with them, I think we'll be good to go.




"We dont want to sleep tonight
still young like that I count the lines
beside your mouth that smiles now
my arms reach up as you go down
with buried heads we both forget
all of the past and its regret
wind picks up, the window shakes
we wont hear the morning break

you will cry, and I will cry
because all the love's, alive tonight

neighbourhoods will try to dream
while you and me we hold and lean
onto bodies slick and charged
together just one beating heart
all around us quiet now
we hear the leaves fall to the ground
morning light upon our bed
an ally while I catch your breath"

devolve | evolve

.