...beneath these tragic waves
: musings : past : etch : others : speak : h#umor :
fear of the known
Oct 10, 2000

I tell you, as I type this, I fear for my life...not unlike the poor souls from the Blair Witch Project (if I ever hook up my web cam, this journal entry will be complete...providing I have the flu or other runny nose causing illnesses).

I woke up in a generally spry mood ...as spry as one may be when his limbs don't function and eyes are crusted shut...and stumbled quite zombie like to fling back the curtains and declare "GET READY WORLD, HERE I COME!" as the crisp morning air would whip though my long, flowing hair. Well, my long, flowing hair was long ago cut and I figured there was no use lying to the world...because well, the world knows I'm not ready for anything, let alone it. With that in mind, I left the curtain closed and zombied my way into the shower, which is when things began to go awry. Cleaned, refreshed, and oddly no longer craving human "braaaaaains", fear suddenly took hold of my very soul and began to shake it, ever so vigorously. It was (and sadly, still IS) Monday..and EARLY Monday at that. And while my Monday's generally aren't the hell (or weren't until college started again recently) that they are for others, I still must struggle with the fact that it being Monday means tomorrow isn't Saturday. A further distance from Saturday I could not be...unless I was in yesterday, and then I wouldn't care...I'd only care that "argh! tomorrow is Monday". So quickly I went from clean and refreshed to cold and miserable (due to standing by the fan, wet and nude as I reflected on all this or to it being Monday, I'm not sure). Somehow even LESS eager to face the perils of the world than mere moments before, I went and did all the boring things you all don't need to hear about (brushed my teeth, combed the hair, leapt from the now open window of my room onto the awaiting jet black steed below and galloped off into the sunset) then headed to work.

Now, I'm sure I will no doubt cover my immense disgust/fear of spiders sometime in the future, but for now, know that I am not pleased when they are in the same general location as me. As a guy, I am somewhat shamed. When I see a spider, I shoot right into a "tizzy" and scream like a young child might in the same situation, if not more...I even go so far as to jump into the nearby waiting arms of the braver person in the room (be it female or male) as I issue commands to slay the foul beast. If the disgusting thing actual manages to come in CONTACT with my skin...well then I just snap.

I'd have called in sick today had I known what unknown horrors awaited me. As I sat to stare lifelessly ahead at my monitor, the beast began to descend unbeknownst upon me, not unlike a no doubt similar creature that fell upon a waking Mr. Baggins. While I've recently contained some of my fear due to my homicidal tendencies towards arachnids, it's still quite present. My fierce desire to see them all wiped out takes over and during my mindless, spider slaughtering adrenaline rush, I'm able to touch the things for the slight moment it takes to crush them between my sweating hands. Today was once such day...as I saw the disgusting spider descend on his web, I struck, like a loving Chow dog waiting for his unsuspecting master to "get up in his grill". Between my powerful (to him) hands I caught him and "squooze" him to an unrecognizable mess. Satisfied and victories, reality suddenly hit me that his mangled corpse was resting comfortabley in the palm of my hand, as if I were an All State agent, so I fittingly recoiled. Interestingly to me...I noticed my hands were quite clean and no where to be found was the object of my assault. I cannot imagine what happened other than his web tension caused a bungee like effect and shot him up into the ceiling (I somehow doubt I smashed him so hard his body just folded into itself and vanished). Thanks to my Holmes like deductive skills, I've since determined that cannot be the case as I can see no evidence of a spider shaped hole.

So here I am, fearful...he's out there somewhere and he knows I tried to take him out. Since I don't think he'll get the 'fuzz' on me and drag me off to a tiny little prison in a pair of tiny little handcuffs, there is only one thing he could be doing. Plotting revenge. He's already playing with my mind I can tell...I can feel him crawling on me all over so I'm here scratching like crazy, all the while whimpering like a lost puppy. He hasn't won yet though...

If you don't hear from me again...he got the upper hand. Or I was taken to a mental home because of "all the spiders all over me!"

Since this is really my first entry I guess I should throw out the common "feel free to email me with comments if you have them (the !%&@!& or whatever button over there)...comments, suggestions, criticism...it's all welcome" and all that. I used to run my own site called Blurb with writings, poems, art, etc but the lack of a community setting made me kinda blue as I was pretty much writing to myself. So I figure here at least I can get read and commented at and I can also read and comment to others. At any rate, I hope you enjoy.

devolve | evolve

.