...beneath these tragic waves
: musings : past : etch : others : speak : h#umor :
minty fresh
Feb 05, 2001

She was chewing Wintergreen, the bane of all gum. I've always equated chewing it to chewing cud, only worse. Much, much worse. Well, she was going to town. I mentioned (despite trying to avoid conversation with her as it's like opening a flood gate, only without all the excitement a real floodgate would cause...i.e. some) my feelings on it.

"Oh, I know, it tastes like 2000 Flushes, but it really freshens your breath".

Yeah, that's what I want; breath that smells like toilet water. As if I don't already have enough problems.

blech
I'm on the road and behind a car. A bumper sticker glistens on the back. Drawn as I always am to read them, I drive as close as I can to read the badly designed sticker with small type. I should have known to abort by that time.

"Save a horse; ride a cowboy!" it said, which I'm ashamed to say I almost thought of laughing at. My excuse is because I was expecting something serious. Riding beside the car to see what sort of person would have a sticker (I expected a young blond cowgirl) of that nature, I glance in. After staring a moment at the swinging red cowboy hat that hung from the rear-view mirror, I saw the woman. My car almost blew up right then, not even giving me time to drive screaming off the nearest cliff then explode in mid-air. Through the cloud of smoke I could make out an old shriveled shell of what was once a women; entire body seemed a giant lung cancer. Wearing way too much makeup, she looked to be the physical manifestation of Patti and/or Selma from the Simpsons, only 3 times as old. And 3 times as hairy...

Not that I have a problem with older people, but when they have stickers like that on their cars that force mental images upon me that'd have driven Dali insane, then I get pissy.

devolve | evolve

.