...beneath these tragic waves
: musings : past : etch : others : speak : h#umor :
strike a pose
Sept 04, 2001

It's been a comfort to me, for whatever reason, that little has changed in the college world over the summer. Like I said before, it's pretty much like I never left, though now I have five classes I really like whereas before I had five I either tolerated or simply hated. Familiarity is nice; I didn't want to feel awkward the first few days of class as I always do. And I didn't. But change can be good. There are things you wish would but, sadly, some things never change.

Ye old Wintergreen Girl strikes again, quickly and with a fury.

I'd noticed a big trend with her last semester, when it came to doing design projects that involved photographs. The trend was that she was always in them. Always. It's nice to love yourself and all, but she just pushed it a wee bit too far. Projects that didn't have anything to do with her mug? She was on there. Our mock up of a psychology magazine? She was on the cover (actually, that might fit after all). Fruit drink labels? There she was (though the fruit and she compliment each other). Collage? You've never seen so many pictures of the same person in your life. Oddly her self-promo didn't have an image of her that I recall. Perhaps even she realized she'd sold herself enough in the 20 other project, though I doubt it.

So she is overly in love with herself. I can handle that. It perplexes me to no known bounds, but I can handle it.

Today we did photography in the lab. Half of us shot while the other half posed. Guess who was up on stage before the camera flash could get there? That's right. Me. Okay, not me. I won't deny that I wasn't getting my mean pose on, because I was, but it was in my group of friends and in a strictly "look how stupid I look" manner. I wasn't trying to act sexy, as she was trying to do. Because if there is anything destined to fail in this world, it's me trying to look sexy. When I do the whole "lip pucker to look hot" move, it just makes my nose look big for some reason. Everything else I do looks equally silly, so I just stick my tongue out and cross my eyes instead, because that doesn't.

At any rate, she was striking a pose all over the place. She was up there the moment we got in class, and she was there at least fifteen minutes after class was over. And she was doing all manner if things no mortal eyes should bear witness. She twirled an umbrella, she flipped her hair, she sprawled out as if on a beach, she slid one leg up to rest on the wall, she showed her damn stomach again, she sucked her finger, I got nauseous, she tried to get up on me in our group, and we all know that wasn't good. Not only did she do this for her group, but when she saw another camera aimed in her general direction (i.e. in the room) she jumped in front of it and would growl like a tiger or something equally unappealing.

Perhaps I'm jealous because I can't growl like a tiger any longer, what with the lack of uvula and all. Or perhaps I'm just jealous I've never had a picture taken of me that wasn't with my eyes closed or with my finger up my nose (I got another one of those today!). The fact remains that I've never met anyone who was as in love with their own image as she.

Going back to the part about her doing projects with her face, I noted it has already begun a new. Our teacher was giving us a demo the other day of a program we're going to be using for our work. The lights were out except the computer projection on the wall, and all was very silent except her speaking on the subject matter. We're using a program that does animation, so I should be little surprised a certain someone took the time to make their photos come to life. Halfway through, I hear the teacher get interrupted and then say a half-hearted "...yeah..that's..er, great...you made your head rotate in an..endless loop." I didn't even need to look to know who it was. Apparently Wintergreen Girl had chopped the head off (so it wasn't all bad) of one of her images and made it rotate 360 degrees in a never ending cycle. Joy. I was kind of hoping at least she'd used the bear head for the rotating image, but alas, it was not to be. I'm sure it's only a matter of time until she takes the bear head, animates it, and uses some really annoying sound effects (perhaps her own impression of a bear growl) to top that masterpiece off.

devolve | evolve

.